The Tasmanian Novels*

mt-wellington-mist-dolerite luke obrien
“Mist over the rocky pinnacle of Mt Wellington” by Luke O’Brien

The Slipping Place, set in Hobart, will be published in November 2018, so please keep an eye out for it. Sleeping Cold, set on Bruny Island will follow next year.  

The Beechworth Novels

I also have a trilogy for young adults, set in North Eastern Victoria.  They are: Devastation Road, The Elsinore Vanish and Evermore.

Devastation Road cover

When it was first published, Devastation Road won the Sisters in Crime Davitt Award for best young adult novel, and was reviewed in The Age, by Jane Sullivan as “an outstanding first novel,” and I hope now some new people can enjoy it.

In May 2018, Devastation Road  will be re-released in paperback and ebook, with The Elsinore Vanish and Evermore following in 2019.

I have an author page, Joanna Baker: Writing Murder, where I share thoughts on the murder mystery model and why it might be so popular and enduring.

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: